Workshop

I really liked this workshop. I learned most of the things over the summer in the tv channel that I was at as an intern but there I had to learn while just watching, there wasn’t someone to explain to me and because I haven’t studied journalism there were things that I didn’t know. Also in the tv channel they don’t really mind that much how everything looks but when they’re working on news I guess it’s normal because they have to be fast and can’t really do any editing, and I don’t really think they know how because they don’t know the software. I just talked to one cameraman who had actually heard of and used the programs that we use but found some of them difficult.
In class we also watched some examples of interviews but first we watched this

and talked about how without any speech in it, this speaks so much with the facial expressions and actions. They tell a lot without the need of words.

Here are some of the examples we watched

I didn’t really like the cuts in this one, how it just jumps. For some reason it didn’t look good to me. But it was as an example of how we can use cuts when we want to remove something that we don’t need and it also makes the video different and less boring. The background also looks like has some depth to it and it looks nice, there’s nothing really to look at in it to distract you but it’s also not boring.

We also talked about what the tutor called them ‘nodsies’ when the interviewer is filmed just nodding like he’s listening. We can use those when we’re editing again when we cut something from the discussion that we don’t want but I think it depends on the type of interview that is done. For journalists that nodding is considered a mistake because they have to be objective and nodding would mean that they agree with what is being said and in some cases that wouldn’t be good. We also talked about cameraman filming hands, eyes and movements with them that we can also put when cutting. I saw that in the tv channel with one interview. The journalist was also taking some notes which worked really well in the cuts and made it a bit different and more interesting.

In the tv channel it was also really nice that the cameraman knew their job and you didn’t have to tell them what to do. Depending on what we were working on, they filmed things that could be useful to us when we did the edit. Editing there is really quick and the software that they use doesn’t have options to fix the colouring or anything but when working in tv channel I guess it’s normal because you have to be really fast with what you make. And sometimes we didn’t really have that much time to edit because we had to be really quick to send the interviews and materials to the producers so they could see them but we could do more editing for later when it would be a bit longer depending on what program it’s for. I would put some interviews and materials that I’ve worked on but I can’t really get them from the site.

We watched some bad examples of interviews as well. Some that are the same a lot of the time, they don’t have many cuts in them which makes them boring because you look at the same thing.

Also the sound of this one I didn’t really like and I think it makes it hard to watch if you can’t hear the questions properly, people would loose interest to have to listen to the questions again to hear them. I guess they could have put some text if the sound wasn’t good or just fix the sound.

A very good example that we watched was from ‘Class of 92’ but I can’t find it. But it was really well made and even if you’re not interested in what they’re talking about it’s still interesting and nice to watch. I contacted Mark for links for the videos and this is a feature film (on DVD so no link) but he gave me the others.

This is an example of a really good interview and I also really like it. It’s also made by two people, not a group. In my opinion the cuts that are used in it make it so nice and interesting to watch, the colours that are shown. Those made it more interesting to me.

Not one that I liked that much but that’s because I don’t like boxing. The video is made nice and it’s watched easy even for a person who doesn’t like boxing. The sound in it is also really nice like in most of the other good examples that we saw.

Mark Sheldon also showed us a few more things that are really useful to know. He said we could use this app when doing our projects with the ipad.

20140128-023731.jpg
He also showed us how to use a clapperboard properly, how to use it to synchronise picture and sound, and how to mark particular scenes and takes. He showed us how to also use it when we’re getting only sound and to turn it around if we haven’t used it in the beginning of the scene we’re filming. I didn’t know they are used for synchronizing.

We also saw a bit of editing and Mark Sheldon told us how he does it and how he talks with the people he works with.

Вашият коментар

