Comparing

Chris Columbus

The character types preferred by Columbus are the everyday American men, women and children who struggle to uphold family traditions against a changing, sometimes intimidating society. In 1993 he said: „I can understand the validity of showing people the ugliness of the world, but I also think there is a place for movies to leave people with a sense of hope. If your film isn’t going to do that, I just don’t think it’s worth making.“ – wikipedia

Hayao Miyazaki 宮崎 駿

Director of the first anime film to win an American Academy Award and probably one of the most famouse Japanese directors.

I’m not sure it’s what we had to do but my brain just doesn’t want to produce anything better. It’s stuck on this but I’m fine with it since these are probably my two favourite directors. 😀

What I can say for a comparison I guess is the fact that 宮崎 駿 goes for more mystical, fantastic worlds but in my opinion that’s common for anime productions. My dad couldn’t help but say he found one of the movies that we most recently watched a bit weird but from my experience that’s normal from someone who’s not into Japanese anime. 😀 I’m not saying he didn’t enjoy the movie or anything, he did. 宮崎 駿 goes for themes as environmentalism, pacifism, feminism, and the absence of villains. He has also said that he prefers to show children a positive side of the world even though he sometimes is pesimistic towards the world. Also a lot of his main characters are strong females for which he has been called a feminist.

Вашият коментар

